Laura Byrnes California High Waisted Cropped Trousers

One of my very first Pinup Girl Clothing “oh God I must have it” must haves were the Laura Byrnes California High Waisted Cropped Trousers in parrot print.
But alas, like everything else in my life I was late to the party and my size sold out and then they were taken out of production *sobs*
Luckily for me, I managed to find a 2xl and snatched it up straight away.
I knew an amazing seamstress who was able to work her magic on bringing a size 2XL down to XL.
Even luckier for you, they’re now back in stock!

1

Since that first glorious pair, my LB Cropped Trousers collection has grown significantly and after some hesitation about sizing I bought the new Tiki Print in my actual size, XL. I say hesitation because a couple years back I bought a pair of LB shorts (basically same cut and fit as the trousers just in shorts) in an XL and I was horrified by the fit. I have a very round belly so they were just not flattering at all so I assumed it was due to me grabbing the wrong size. Since then I sized up all my LB trousers and had them taken in to ensure a good fit around my belly and rise.

When I received them I couldn’t wait to rush home and try them on, once I did I knew made the right decision with the sizing.
The pants feature a true high waist which on me sits about 2 inches above my navel. Although they don’t come up as high as my Parrot print due to them having once been larger, they still sit nicely on my natural waist and create a really beautiful shape. The waistband itself is wider at the front than in the back and has a curve which I quite like because it adds to your shape. The waistband at the back features elastic panelling either side of the zipper closure. While I love how high up the pants come at the front, I wish this was the same at the back because they do tend to dip when you sit down.

The print is really subtle and wearable, I work in an office and feel like some novelty prints can be a little too loud for an office setting, so this makes me happy as I will be able to get more wear out of them.
The colours are so vibrant and match well together, giving you a few options for tops if like me, you like to match the colour of your top to one in the print. I’ve taken a more subtle approach and have gone with a black top and shoes, but the bright yellow, orange or blue in the print would be fun to highlight too as I’ve done with the Parrot Print pair.

The fabric itself caught me by surprise at how firm and thick it is almost to the point where it feels a little restricting around the thighs, especially compared to my Parrot print where the fabric after the last 2 years and lots of wears has softened significantly. Granted that my parrot prints were a size bigger and weren’t taken in all that much around the thighs, I’m hoping the Tiki print will give a little over time. I don’t know if it’s the firmer fabric or a change in the type of zip used but I think it’s only fair to mention that just as I was about to walk out the door to head to my shoot location, the zip burst open. Not unzipped, the zip was technically still zipped, it was the teeth that gave up and split open. I plan to replace the zip with ones I have used before that seem to be able to contain but booty. I’m mentioning this because if you are a fuller thigh gal, this may be something to take into consideration.
They do have side pockets though, so that’s always a good thing!

17498836_10155190055113466_6712345812964146232_n

The length is perfect too!
I am 5’3 and the length on these is always spot on, hitting me mid shin.
I have tried a pair of cropped trousers from another brand and they were an absolute bust and came down to ankle length! So if you are a short gal I don’t think you will have much issue, but if you do find they are a little long, they would be easy enough to hem.

To style the Tiki trousers I chose the black Vamp top to go with the black background of the trousers so the print would do all the talking. Paired with black heels from Lindy Bop, some brightly coloured bangles and the Penelope Peony Baby Double in Yellow from Daisy Jean Floral Designs.

To style the Parrot print trousers I chose to highlight the subtle aqua tones in the print by pairing them with the Dixiefired bustier, Bloom heels by B.a.i.t. Footwear and Daffodil and red Carnation hair flower from Daisy Jean Floral Designs.

The Laura Byrnes California High Waisted Cropped Trousers for $88USD or $117AUD (not including shipping)and come in sizes XS-4XL.
While the Tiki print is now sold out, the Laura Byrnes California High Waist trousers come in such an array of solid colours and prints that you’re bound to find something you love. I know I’ve already spotted my next additions *cough* Pink Plaid *cough*.

Outfit details
Parrot Print:

Top- Dixiefried
Shoes- B.a.i.t. Footwear
Hair Flowers- Daisy Jean Floral Designs
Bangles- Ebay

Tiki Print
Top- Deadly Dames
Shoes- Lindy Bop
Hair Flowers- Daisy Jean Floral Designs
Bangles- Ebay

xo
Miss Dottie DeMure

One thought on “Laura Byrnes California High Waisted Cropped Trousers

Leave a Reply

