Collectif Clothing Maria Bloom Dress

I already have a lot of floral prints in my wardrobe but they tend to be more summery in both colours and style, so when I first saw the Maria dress in this gorgeous burgundy floral print last year I knew I had to have it! The darker burgundy background with the soft pink rose print makes it a print that can be worn year round and not look out of place.
But, alas  with deciding to cut down on my spending, I told myself to wait till the end of year sale. Since the Maria dress is a regular Collectif style that gets a new print/colorway for every season they are in a way “limited” so having to wait till the end of year was pretty risky especially just a few months into the new year print is now gone, luckily I snapped it up when I did during the December/January sale.

17274666_1231498973586240_183608529_n.jpg

The Maria is made out of a thick cotton/spandex blend which again adds to the versatility of this dress because it’s perfect for Summer but also for cooler weather paired with a nice cardigan or coat.
The spandex adds a great deal of comfort but not enough stretch that you could size down unless you were on the smaller end of your size, so as always, it’s best to refer to the size chart.

I’m wearing my usual size 16 which caters to a 42″ bust and 34″ waist, my bust is 41″ and my waist is 33″ so it is a little big on me but nothing too drastic, which pretty much means the size chart is pretty spot on.

The dress features a gorgeous cross over bust with a deep V neckline which is very flattering. However, if you prefer a more modest look you could add a lace cami underneath which would compliment it nicely. The short sleeves are a good length sitting at about 2″ below my underarm. I hate being restricted around my underarm which is why I tend to prefer the Maria over the Dolores style which often gets featured in the same print.

18057973_10155286429208466_1686442217491084765_n.jpg

The skirt is a full circle skirt which I like, however I do tend to prefer the exaggerated fullness of gathered skirts. This however is nothing that can’t be fixed with a fluffy petticoat. Something I have noticed on me with Collectif circle dresses is they do tend to run a little long hitting me at mid shin. I’m 5’3 so for those taller gals, this won’t be a problem. But again, wearing a petticoat underneath takes some of the length out so it’s not really an issue.

With the vibrant colours in this print, I chose a mix of green and pink accessories to highlight those colours. White would look lovely too as a bold contrast to the dark burgundy.

17668820_1248820681854069_366280615_o

The Maria dress is available in sizes 6-22, and retails between £60 – £62.50
For those lucky gals who are heading into Summer, the Maria English Garden print is a must have. This one is a personal favourite of mine so I’m so sad that pale colours just don’t work on me. The pastel colours are just so bright and cheery!
If you love the Maria but perhaps full on florals aren’t your thing you may like the new Maria Toile Floral print or Maria Charming Bird print.

Outfit details
Belt & Petticoat- Hell Bunny
Custom shoes- B.a.i.t. Footwear 
Hair flowers- Daisy Jean Floral Designs

Thank you to  JRM Photography for the amazing photos in the gorgeous sunshine at Footscray Park.

XO
Miss Dottie DeMure

2 thoughts on “Collectif Clothing Maria Bloom Dress

Leave a Reply

