Tiki Time in Vivien of Holloway

Something I had decided for myself this past Summer was to step out of my clothing comfort zone and get myself a pair of shorts. Australian Summers can be pretty brutal and although skirts and dresses are pretty great for warm weather, sometimes you just feel like wearing shorts, something that since gaining weight, I had been sorely missing.

For my body shape, being narrow hipped with a round belly, I need shorts that fit my waist and have enough fabric to accommodate my tummy without being too loose around my hips. Being able to try something on before buying is pretty much a must.
Buying shorts online without being able to try them on first had proved to be disastrous in the past so I just assumed that all brands would be like this and gave up the idea of wearing shorts.

w

Luckily I found myself at  Christine’s around Christmas time and while combing the wracks of amazing Vivien Of Holloway clothes in search of something to wear on Christmas eve which was going to be ridiculously hot, I found the most perfect Summer Christmas outfit ever. Christmas coloured tiki print shorts? Yes please! The Red Palm Shorts and the Halterneck Top in Red Cotton were the perfect summer staples.

Normally I tend to steer clear of halterneck style tops and dresses because I find they pull on my neck too much resulting in a sore neck and shoulders. BUT since I have previous experience with VOH halternecks I knew this wouldn’t be an issue because they are fully boned for extra support.
I’m wearing my usual VOH size 16 which suits a 42″ bust and 34″ waist.
The halter straps aren’t actually straps that you need to tie, they are a loop that goes around the neck, so having a full back zip  makes putting it on without ruing your hair a breeze. As I mentioned, the top is fully boned, not only in the bust but at the sized and back too, so you could wear it without a bra if you wanted but I’m wearing a simple strapless bra underneath.

The sizing on the shorts took a couple attempts to get right. We first went with a size 14 which best suits a 32″ waist and 42″ hips. While these did fit and were super curve hugging, I just didn’t feel like I could wear them with confidence. So I sized up to the 16 (34″,46″) and knew I made the right decision. If you’re familiar with VOH swing trouser sizing you’ll have no problem finding your size in the shorts. If you’re not sure you can always consult the size chart or customer service.
The shorts close at the back with a button and zip fastening and feature two deep pockets on the front. Like the swing trousers, the shorts also feature an upturned cuff which adds to the vintage look. The shorts a true vintage waist and sit perfectly on my natural waist which is quite high up if you’re used to modern day “high waist” *bah! what a joke!*.
Because my hips aren’t as wide as the size chart caters for (for reference my hips are 42″) they do fit a little loose around my hips and thighs but that’s exactly the way I like them.

If you’re in the Northern Hemisphere and are gearing up for summer, I highly recommend adding a pair of VOH shorts to your summer essential list. With an array of colours, you are bound to find something you love. And with all the options for tops and an abundance of prints and colours, you’ll be co-ordinated and ready to hit the ice cream parlour and cool off this summer.
Souther Hemisphere gals, I know summer here is drawing to a close but don’t worry, becayse that means it’s time to snap up some bargains!
For a limited time, Christine’s is offering 30% off EVERYTHING in store only at 362 Brunswick Street, Fitzroy in Melbourne.

The plain cotton Halterneck Tops retail for £35.00
The shorts retail for £45.00
If you’re looking to snap yourself a bargain, I recommend joining the official Facbook group ‘I have a Vivien of Holloway dress and love to wear it’ and seeing what’s listed.

Xo
Miss Dottie DeMure

5 thoughts on “Tiki Time in Vivien of Holloway

  1. You’re definitely rocking these shorts. It takes quite the magical pair to make me feel good in them so that truly does speak for these shorts! I may have to give them a try! VoH is winning me over lately, I must say! I kind of think I need this entire outfit so I can twin with you from another country ;)

    Like

Leave a Reply

