Favourite looks for August

Another month over, another opportunity to reflect of the my favourite looks.
This time, the month of August.
August was actually a stylish month for me if I do say so myself, BUT I stupidly went on a deleting rampage on my phone so here’s a few that survived the cut!

This gorgeously bright floral outfit survived my rampage and I’m so glad it did. Australia is in our final month of Winter, and while everyone seems to gravitate towards neutral/dark colours, I must have missed that memo.
I love bright colours and floral prints and this skirt is one that I can wear all year round without issue. I always seem to pair it with bright pink and really need to break out of this habit. What colours do you think I should try with it next?
Top- Pinup Girl Clothing
Skirt- Powderpuff Boutique
Shoes- B.a.i.t. Footwear
Hair flower- made by me
14117718_10154494317328466_2919701214591801664_n

This was another bright non-Wintery outfit that I absolutely loved.
I picked up this skirt in the amazing Collectif sale and paired it with a plain long sleeve top from Kmart. I can’t wait for the weather to warm up so I can wear this with short sleeve tops like the Dolores top which would pair so nicely.
Skirt- Collectif
Shoes- B.a.i.t. Footwear

14063778_10154494317393466_1393605311952046574_n

This is one of my favourite dressier looks. I had made this dress for Greazefest Melbourne but me being me, got sick the night before so spent the day resting. Rather than let this dress go to waste, it has now entered my regular rotation. I still need to tweak it here and then, like add darts in the bodice and on the sleeves to help it fit better, but overall I’m happy with how it all came together. This is saying something, considering, when I first tried it on sans hair and makeup I absolutely hated it.
But hair, makeup, the right accessories and an amazing coat can really pull an outfit together, don’t you think?
Dress- McCalls 7153
Coat- Collectif
Shoes- B.a.i.t. Footwear

14079826_10154494317303466_1757427498473857764_n

Something that has turned out to be a lot of fun is having my non-pinup sister choose outfits for me. It started out by her asking me what I was going to wear the next day, since I rarely plan anything ahead of time I said she could choose anything from my wardrobe and I promise I’ll wear it. Risky indeed but the end result was perfect. For someone who repeatedly said she didn’t know what she was doing I think she did just fine. My sister selected the hot pink Sabrina top and mint cardigan from Pinup Girl clothing and paired it with my handmade skirt and Bait heels with matching Dottie DeLite Necklace.
14333658_10154556058088466_2279926674801786726_n
Top & cardigan- Pinup Girl Clothing
Skirt- Made by me
Shoes- B.a.i.t. Footwear
Necklace- Dottie DeLite Jewellery

My last pick of the month goes to this purple ensemble.
I’m finding I’m quite partial to dark purples lately. Since realising dark colours work best against my pale skin I’ve been much more aware and try to steer clear of pale colours and opting for more darker shades. Dark outfits with prints and lots of colour keep with my bright pinup vibes but in a way that flatters my skin tone. I’m interested to see how I’m going to incorporate my new love of darker colours into my summer wardrobe and am also excited by the thought of possible diy dye jobs for some pale yellow dresses that just don’t work on me anymore…not that they ever really did if I’m being honest.
Top- Kmart
Skirt- Pinup Girl Clothing
Shoes- B.a.i.t. Footwear
14322318_10154556058083466_1296546457885968797_n

XO
Miss Dottie DeMure

Leave a Reply

