Adding pockets to…EVERYTHING

Anyone who mostly wears dresses and skirts will understand how frustrating it can be to not have pockets.
Seems silly but I never appreciated pockets until I started wearing mostly dresses and skirts.
I hate having to carry my phone in my hand and don’t like it being in my bag so without pockets I’m kinda stuck.
I have had my seamstress add pockets to a couple of my pieces but being that I can actually sew, I sometimes feel super lazy getting someone else to do it.
So I decided to get over my fear of accidentally ruining my clothes and sew in a darn pocket myself!

To add pockets you will need:
-Garment (skirt or dress) I started with this cute Dancing Horse Jenny Skirt
-Seam ripper
-Fabric
-Paper, doesn’t have to be tracing/pattern paper
(I use non-fusable interfacing so that I can re-use my patterns numerous times with very little wear on them)
-Thread
-Pins
-Sewing machine
-Pinking shears or overlocker (optional)
(If you have a good eye and are handy with needle and thread you cdan definitely hand sew, but I rather use the machine for seams)

For this to work with as minimal fuss as possible it’s best to do this with a skirt or dress that has side seams.
If your garment does not have a side seam you may need to create well.
So with that being said…

Let’s get started!

Draw up your pocket however big you want it on your paper, this will be your guide to the actual size your pocket will be.
If you already have a skirt with a pocket you can just trace around that, which is what I did because it’s already the perfect size for my giant phone.
I had to go out and buy the biggest phone I could find so I need deep pockets.
Check to see if this will suit your skirt by positioning it where you plan to insert the pocket.
2

Trace your pocket out onto your fabric (right sides together) with a 1.5cm seam allowance.
If you’re only making one pocket you will need to cut two, cut four if you want two pockets.
1

Once you have your positioning worked out, place a pin at either end of the pocket, this is so you know how big an opening you will need.
10603798_10153854650703466_2708205430555370207_n

Using the pin guides you placed earlier, carefully pick the seam using your seam ripper.
3

Attach your pocket piece to the skirt, right sides together and pin in place.
Tuck the pocket piece into the skirt so it’s out of the way as you sew.
4

Using a straight stitch attach the pocket piece to the skirt, do the same for the other side.
5

Line up the two pieces so they are even and pin together. Mark the outer corners with a pin so you know when to stop.
Sew the pieces together along the seam of the dress/skirt and curve around to close the pocket.
6

If you have an overlocker/surger go ahead and overlock that seam.
If not, you can use a zigzag stitch or cut the excess with pinking shears to avoid any fraying.
7
Sewing machine zigzag stitch & cut using pinking shears

Turn your skirt the right way around and there you have it!
Now you won’t ever have to be without the essentials (phone & lipstick) again!
5621_10153854810068466_4946029230568833047_n

Thanks for tuning in.
Happy sewing.

Outfit details
Top, skirt & belt- Pinup Girl Clothing
Shoes- B.a.i.t. Footwear

xo
Miss Dottie

7 thoughts on “Adding pockets to…EVERYTHING

Leave a Reply

