Christmas pout with Jeffree Star and Makeup Monsters Cosmetics

Recently I fell in love with Jeffree Star liquid lipsticks. They are the ultimate long lasting transfer-proof matte lipstick.
In November the Holiday collection was launched featuring 5 new colours, Doll Parts, Androgyny, Hoe Hoe Hoe, Drug Lord and Mistletoe.

12191050_10153536244640589_5689282001480588652_n

I love my red lips so I knew straight away I had to get Hoe Hoe Hoe.
After reading the description I placed an order right away with Tragic Beautiful and received my order within a couple days.
“This fierce red is gorgeous. Hoe Hoe Hoe, part of Jeffree Star’s Limited Edition Holiday Collection, is deep toned with hints of metallic red and purple throughout”.

12321485_10153811990998466_5754157554442091672_n
From just looking at it in the tube, it’s looked promising, like a glittery deep brown/red.
When I put it on I loved the colour and the quality is the same high level that I have come to expect from Jeffree Star.
On me it’s more of a deep burgundy which I love but just not with my intended Christmas outfit.
The glitter isn’t in your face but it sure is there.
The only issue I have with it is that purple which; in fairness, is mentioned in the description. By the end of the day my beautiful deep red lips changed to purple.
I don’t know if this is one of those colours that looks different on everyone or if this is something that just happens with this colour.
Overall I do love it but I am a traditionalist and to me this deep red/purple colour is just not Christmas.
12366033_10153838856028466_3941185578697244440_o

(Without flash and with flash to really pick up that sparkly madness)

And so the search continued…

While scrolling through my Facebook feed, I discovered another cruelty free brand thanks to Lipstick Republic.
Makeup Monsters Cosmetics is a small cruelty free, vegan company based in Washington, USA.
Like Jeffree Star, MMC launched 2 Christmas colours in November, Sleighing it and I Touch My Elf…gotta love those cheeky names, right!

mmc

I am definitely not brave enough to try a green lip so I went with the safe option and ordered Sleighin’ It from Lipstick Republic.
“A sparkly golden metallic Christmas red. ”
Sounds so perfect, how could I not?
With lots of shipment updates I was able to track my shipment and it arrived within 2 days!
12348130_10153811990968466_3031594498907465126_n

From looking at the pictures and the lipstick in the tube this one looked really promising.
The applicator instantly annoyed me though, it’s a straight hard point that in no way contours to the shape of your lips.
Luckily that is my only complaint. I love this product! The quality is pretty much on par with JS but the colour is exactly what I wanted.
A bright Christmas red with gold glitter throughout just makes me feel so festive!
After applying two coats, wait till it’s fully dried and gently rub your lips together to bring out the glitter.
The glitter is really soft and subtle which I like, but adds an element of fun.
I will definitely be wearing this one on Christmas day!
10668841_10153838855988466_6431600918255679249_o
(Without flash and with flash to really pick up that sparkly madness)

Jeffree Star retails for $29AUD (unfortunately sold out on Tragic Beautiful and Lipstick Republic)
and
Makeup Monsters Cosmetic retails for $28AUD and is currently in stock at Lipstick Republic

Now that that’s sorted I just have to work out my hair and finish off my outfit…..and maybe start some Christmas shopping eeep!
Are you planning your Christmas day outfit already?
Have you tried either of these lippies?
Let me know in the comments.

Xo
Miss Dottie

3 thoughts on “Christmas pout with Jeffree Star and Makeup Monsters Cosmetics

Leave a Reply

