L.A. Girl Matte Pigment Gloss

Finding that perfect shade of red lipstick is no easy feat, finding one that’s cruelty free just makes things all the more challenging.
Recently I decided I no longer wish to support a company that manufactured a popular brand of matte lipstick. This change of heart for a brand I had previously liked was due to their poor business practices, claims that their products may indeed contain prohibited ingredients and allegations that they may not be 100% truthful in claiming they are cruelty free/vegan friendly.
So for moral and safety reasons I decided to go out in search of a new favourite.

I have already reviewed Australis Velour Lips which I wear quite often but was looking for something that would be a little more moisturising.
I was hoping to find a liquid matte lipstick that would meet a few requirements of mine.
My ideal lipstick would be:
– Cruelty free
-Matte
-Long lasting
-Non drying/flaky or balling
Not too much to ask for is it?

Right so first things first, where to find cruelty free products?
When searching for cruelty free brands there are two places I use.
If I’m looking to find companies within Australia that are cruelty free I just do a quick search on the Choose Cruelty Free site.
If I want to shop international brands with as little effort as possible I use Lipstick Republic who only stock cruelty free products.

Since I love a bargain and after reading the product description for the Matte Pigment Gloss, I decided I would try out the brand L.A Girl Cosmetics.
“The long wearing formula goes on as a high pigmented liquid and dries to a flat matte finish. Leaving lips colored in gorgeous velvety perfection that last and lasts.”
Being that it was a matte gloss I was excited at the thought of finding a matte lipstick that wouldn’t be ridiculously drying.
I decided on two shades off the LR site out of the 16 pretty shades available; “Firsky” which appeared to be a true red and “Tulle” which looked like bright, deep pink.
Frisky tulle

Shipping is always fast and affordable and packages are tracked right to your door so I had these in no time.

The first thing I always do when I get a new liquid lipstick, is open it so I can see what the applicator looks likes.
I was really surprised by the shape and a little apprehensive about using it because it’s not like others that usually have the doe foot shape.
I gave it a go anyway and figured if it was a complete disaster I could always just use a lip brush.

12002267_10153645229408466_659733714866427609_n

Matte lipsticks can be a little more tricky to apply than stick lipsticks, it’s best to apply onto bare lips; as liquid lipsticks are usually more highly pigmented and applying too many layers will cause it to ball up and flake off. I like my red to be bright and bold so I applied my favourite lip liner from Australis, before applying the lipstick. The straight point applicator was a little odd to use and as a result it seemed like I had to layer it on to get an even coverage.

lip prep 3

Applying the lippy with a liner underneath created a gorgeous bright true red with a matte finish without being drying, which was exactly what I wanted (is it too soon to do a happy dance?).
However, what I didn’t want was the sticky feeling it left on my lips that wouldn’t go away.
To test how long wearing it was I went a full day completely resisting the urge to touch up my lippy…it was a struggle but I did it!
By the end of the day it felt unbearably sticky, had balled up at the corners of my mouth (which felt a little gross) and had completely rubbed off at the centre of my mouth.
1

I wasn’t ready to give up just yet so I gave it another go, but this time changed the way I applied it.
I started by scrubbing my lips with my Lush Bubblegum Lip Scrub that I have been using for a few years now and love for my base prep.
Then gave my lips some much needed nourishment with my trusty paw paw lip balm before applying 1 even coat of the Matte Pigment Gloss.
4

With the new application method the results are only slightly better.
The colour wasn’t as rich as it was with the liner and still did not last all day, it had faded significantly but it wasn’t as sticky and it didn’t ball up, so that was an improvement.
A little disappointing when the claim is it will “last and last”. Because I did only apply 1 coat in the morning I was able to apply a second in the afternoon without having that build up of product.
Down side though, that stickiness was back which pulled the colour off my lips.
q

Now a quick word about the pink for those of you who, like me, wanted to find a replacement for the Pink Velvet matte lipstick.
The colour in real life looks nothing like the stock photo which was so disappointing, so beware.
I like more rich colours and find they suit my skin tone much better, so the fluro Barbie pink was an absolute bust for me.
The lipstick itself wasn’t as pigmented as the red so 1 coat was no where near enough to get an even coverage.
I think I counted 4 coats to get it opaque using the silly straight tip applicator and because of the product build up it went super gluggy, sticky and stayed glossy.
I had much more success using a lip brush.
I was able to get more smooth lines and a much more even finish that stayed matte.
I got an opaque finish applying 2 layers.
1

Overall I honestly do not see this product becoming a regular in my make up routine as I was pretty disappointed with it. For short outings I think I could probably use it because the red is gorgeous.
It seems like if I want to wear a matte lipstick I have to choose between super drying and super sticky.
Dry lips I can fix, I’m not sure what to do about the stickiness.
It’s definitely not kiss proof or food proof, so a bit of forethought for your day’s activity is required to make sure you always look and feel fabulous.

For just $5 direct from the L.A Girl site (international ladies, heads up shipping is absolutely ridiculous!) and $12 from Lipstick Republic it’s okay but not great. I don’t always feel like cost dictates quality but in some cases it definitely rings true.
I think this lipstick would be best for short wears like for a quick coffee with the girls and not for long busy days when you may not have time to touch up your lippy.
So while I wasn’t 100% pleased with my results of this particular lipstick I think I would have better results with the Matte Flat Velvet Lipstick also by L.A Girl cosmetics, so fingers crossed Lipstick Republic will be adding this one to their product list.

I’m still on the hunt for that perfect long wear matte lipstick and think I will be trying Jeffree Star next.
Have you found that perfect mattle liquid lipstick?
Have you had better results than me with the L.A Girl Matte Pigment Gloss?
If so please leave a comment below, I would love to hear from you.

xo
Miss Dottie

6 thoughts on “L.A. Girl Matte Pigment Gloss

    • Hi Mimi,
      The website states that the products are cruelty free (not tested on animals) however there is no mention of them being vegan friendly and no ingredients listed that I was able to see.
      If you are vegan or just prefer to use vegan products I will be reviewing a new (to me) line of lipsticks that contain no animal by-products.

      Like

  1. Try LA Splash’s liquid lipstick it is matte, long lasting, and non drying. Or the ofra liquid lipstick it is highligly recommended and a must try! They’re just like the kylie lip kits

    Like

  2. I was disappointed in LA Girl as well, I love the colors but the stickiness is way too much! I even brush it up with a loose powder, it lessens the sticky feeling but its still sticky.

    Try ColourPop Matte lipgloss, they have awesome colors, same price range as LA Girl but its not sticky. It dries up fast even with a Vaseline lip therapy underneath.

    Though I’m not sure if its cruelty-free product.

    Like

Leave a Reply

