Criss-cross sweetheart pinup top

Shopping on a budget can often be a little stressful and disappointing, especially when things seem just out of reach.
Luckily you won’t have to spend a heck of a lot of money to look great this coming summer with a little help from The Oblong Box Shop!
While searching around online for some cute tops I found the criss-cross sweetheart top and knew I just had to add it my wardrobe. I can’t wait till the weather warms up here in Australia and can’t help but plan ahead for some fun summer looks.
3

The criss-cross sweetheart pinup top is one that I’m really excited about for this coming summer.
When first building up my pinup wardrobe I focused mainly on dresses and skirts and figured I could just pair them with some tops I already have.
How silly of me, of course mainstream tops won’t match nearly as well as those designed with a vintage pinup flare!
So discovering these tops and how versatile they are was perfect for creating fun new looks.

The top features a modest sweetheart neckline, with a cute twisted bust which is lightly padded and gathering at the sides for a ruched effect that will love your curves.
Made from a soft polyester/spandex blend it’s lightweight which is perfect for summer and has a lot of stretch to accommodate any size.
Because there is so much stretch in the top there’s no need for a zip, you just slip it on over your head (do so before doing your hair to avoid hair disaster).
The straps have enough stretch in them to be able to be worn in different ways creating multiple looks with just one top.
It can be worn with the straps crossed at the front to showcase your inner vixen, worn on one side to create interest or crossed at the back in more of a halter style.
1

The soft polyester/spandex blend makes this top much more comfortable to wear than other criss-cross style tops I have tried.
Similar tops on the market with more structure and less stretch often feel very restrictive around the neck and I find long wears often become very uncomfortable and tight around the neck after a while.
Not with this one though so fear not! The stretch in the top adds so much comfort I forget how I’ve decided to style it for the day because I don’t feel any of the restrictiveness I mentioned earlier when I wear it criss-crossed at the front.
11949381_10153605535038466_5175353590993847472_n
Likewise, I didn’t find any tension at all in my neck and shoulders like I can sometimes get in halter style tops when I wore it with the criss-cross at the back.
So this alone makes it an ideal choice for someone like me who can get aches from carrying a lot of tension in my neck and shoulders or for any other gals prone to back and neck aches.
11873673_10153605483503466_1568748829583060047_n

The CCSP Top comes in 14 beautiful colours (baby pink, baby blue, yellow, sapphire, white, red, black, olive, purple, mint, kelly green and orange).
I already have four colours in my collection and will definitely be adding the kelly green and orange to my wardrobe.

 I normally wear an XL (my bust is 41″ and waist is 34″) across many labels and got my first CCSP Top in red in an XL.
I found that because there was so much stretch in the top that it just didn’t fit me as well as I had hoped. The bust was a little roomy on me and the gathered ruching would drop. I found that I had to do frequent checks throughout the day to readjust the bust, which would droop down and show my bra, how scandalous!
So I decided I’d size down and got the baby pink, purple and mint in a large. This fit much better in the bust and the ruching in the waist stayed put which I was very happy about, and no wardrobe malfunction checks meant I could wear this top with the confidence it inspires.
The only issue I found was one that I created.
I didn’t wear the right bra, tsk tsk. It was a little tight and with a fabric that is known for being clingy this is not a very flattering look I must admit, but alas I shall know for next time.

11891206_10153605535083466_6972827181009523058_n

I’ve styled the mint top with the Puffer fish novelty circle skirt also from TOBS, Canvas Underskirt and Black patent belt from Pinup Girl Clothing along with B.a.i.t. Footwear Ida heels in aqua, hand made hair flowers and thrifted bangles.

The criss-cross sweetheart pinup top comes in sizes S-2XL and retails for $19.50US.
TOBS not only offer international shipping but also offer a frequent shopper rewards programs which means with awesome discounts you can get great tops like these at even lower prices as well as collect frequent shopper points to put towards future purchases!

So let’s talk about the quality.
The old adage “you get what you pay for” does apply. For $27.30AUD you are getting a great budget wardrobe staple that can easily give you 3 looks from just 1 piece.
Yes it definitely isn’t as well structured as say, the Voodoo Vixen top from Pinup Girl Clothing (which is triple the price) but it really is unfair to compare the two, considering price and the material they are made from.
I have heard mixed reviews about this top in terms of quality but I have found that in terms of pricing the quality is completely acceptable. I initially was a little anxious thanks to previous unflattering experiences with spandex-like tops but have since come to love the comfort the stretch material offers.
Just remember, like with any of your other pretties; with proper love and care it will last you many seasons to come.

So after sharing my love of the Criss-cross sweatheart pinup top, all I need now is the sunny weather to make it’s way down under so I can have fun in the sun while I style my other colours…and hopefully some new ones!

2
Xo
Miss Dottie

One thought on “Criss-cross sweetheart pinup top

Leave a Reply

