Wear a gathered skirt that’s too big.

I think it’s safe to say we all understand the sheer frustration that comes with eyeing off that gorgeous skirt waiting till you have the money for it, only to have that day roll around and your size is sold out!
This happened to me with the Mary Blair Jenny Skirt in pink Lips and Roses Print from Pinup Girl Clothing.

I wear an xl and this always seems to be sold out whenever I decide I want something.
When I went to order the skirt the only sizes available were either too small or too big!
I’m a very impatient creature and have a serious case of FOMO (fear of missing out) when it comes to PUG, what if an item gets discontinued and it’s lost to me forever?
This was my reasoning for ordering a skirt that was 2 sizes too big for me.

I decided I would get the skirt in 3xl and have it tailored to my size. I have done this in the past and have always been pleased with the results my tailor gives me, like the red/brown harelquin print Jenny I had tailored earlier in the year.
So we established earlier that my patience level for new pretties is pretty much non-existent and waiting till I have alterations money means my new pretties won’t be getting worn, which is the worst kind of fashion torture imaginable, right?
So rather than sit there and stare at my pretty new skirt I thought nuts to waiting, I’m gonna wear it anyway! So I did.

I’ve worn it twice now and I can’t wait to have it altered because this baby is definitely getting pockets!

 11896073_10153597265393466_2450148228446648730_n11825747_941281615932373_3383489864152735140_n

But wait, how can you be wearing the skirt if it’s 2 sizes too big, you ask?
Well I just used a little pinup ingenuity so that way I can be impatient and stylish!

So here’s how I did it!
11915738_10153597294593466_7387725055106452648_n

I simply turned the skirt around so the zip was at the front, pushed down on the skirt where I wanted it fitted and folded the excess over, pinning it in place with a safety pin and then turn the skirt around so it was the right way round again. The belt over the top not only accessorises and cinches in the waist but covers up the safety pin. The gathering of the skirt along with the busy pattern make it almost unnoticeable, wearing a petticoat or the canvas underskirt also by Pinup Girl Clothing can help hide the bulk.

Here’s a link to my little vid on Flipagram.

So there, that’s all there is to it. If you have a skirt that may be a little too big but you still want to wear it while you search for a tailor, now you can!
I hope this has been helpful!

xo
Miss Dottie

3 thoughts on “Wear a gathered skirt that’s too big.

Leave a Reply

