Kay Savanna Dress

Recently I expanded my tiny Bernie Dexter collection with some help from Candy of Sweet As Candy Vintage.

Sweet As Candy Vintage is an Australian retailer who stocks Bernie Dexter, LIMB, Bettie Page (Tatyana Boutique) as well as accessories and genuine vintage clothing.
What I love about SACV is that they allow payment plans, it’s not always easy to budget when there are so many pretty things we want as well as keeping up to date with those pesky bills, so I always find this as a big plus!

Now onto the Kay Dress in Savanna Floral Print.
I’m pretty nuts for florals and when I realised I didn’t have any nice blue dresses in my wardrobe this dress was immediately added to my list so when I finally got it I couldn’t wait to show it off!

Kay savanna twirl

The colour in the dress is beautifully vibrant and the pattern is really sweet and perfect for a spring garden party.
Pair with pink, yellow or even green accessories to really make the colour of the flowers on the dress pop.

Untitled

The dress is really well made and its easy to see that designer, Bernie Dexter puts a lot of thought into her pieces, even to the point of naming this dress after a good friend of hers whom the print reminded her of, sweet right?

The Kay Pin Up dress features spaghetti straps, boning in the bust, a one inch waist brand to beautifully cinch in the waist as well as my favourite…hidden lipstick pockets!

Upon ordering this dress I had no idea it had boning so when I actually received it and felt it my heart did drop a little, boning does not work well with my body at all.
I have other dresses that HAD boning which I removed quick smart.
This however; was not necessary because the dress fit my bust perfectly which was such a relief, normally pinup style dresses tend to be a little roomy in the bust on me.
The only negative about this dress and other Bernie Dexter dresses featuring spaghetti straps is that they are not adjustable so if they don’t fit you exactly you may find them slipping down from time to time.

10429436_10153189624818466_8389627926452743054_n

The Kay Pin Up Dress ran true to size on me (usually pinup dresses are roomy in the bust on me) but I would still advise checking size charts carefully as this dress offers no stretch so if you are between sizes it might be best to size up.

Bernie Dexter dresses range from XS to 2XL (3xl).
I am wearing a size XL.
Please note with plus sizing that Bernie Dexter 2XL is not xxl but is actually equivalent to xxxl.
Sizing is L, XL, 1XL (xxl), 2XL (xxxl).
Again, if you are unsure just search for the size guide to help you.

It retails for $160AU from Sweet As Candy Vintage and every purchase comes with a free gift!
I got a gorgeous pair of earrings with this dress.
It’s definitely worth every cent.

xo
Miss Dottie

2 thoughts on “Kay Savanna Dress

  1. Gosh, I know this is rather forward, but would you mind telling me your height and cup size? I’m 6ft and an E, so trying to figure out if I’d have half a hope of fitting into this dress before ordering from overseas. thank you!

    Like

    • Hi Amy,
      I don’t mind at all. I’m a 38C, I’m 162cm tall and I wear a size XL.
      On me because I have a wider frame it feels like there isn’t much room in the bust and there is no stretch at all, as long as you check the size chart carefully I think you will be fine.
      I have heard of bustier girls being able to fit in other Bernie Dexter styles so hopefully this one will be a winner too.
      There seems to be a good range of sizes and the dress would be fairly easy to alter if need be.
      Here’s Bernie Dexter’s size chart to check your measurements.
      http://berniedexter.com/pages/size-chart

      I hope this helps, good luck in finding the perfect fit :)

      Like

Leave a Reply

